COVID-19 (Novel Coronavirus)

✉︎   Join our distribution list to stay informed

Image  Follow us on Facebook for daily updates



On November 27, Governor David Ige announced that starting December 2, all transpacific and intercounty travelers arriving on Kauai will be subject to the 14-day quarantine regardless of testing. Emergency Rule 23 temporarily pauses Kauai’s participation in the state’s pre-travel testing program. Read the press release.


During a press conference on November 19, Governor David Ige announced that starting November 24, travelers wishing to bypass the 14-day mandatory quarantine must have their negative COVID-19 test results - from a trusted testing partner - prior to departure for the State of Hawaii.

On November 23, Gov. Ige signed a 16th COVID-19 emergency proclamation, which details the policy change.

Travelers heading to Hawaii must upload their negative test result to the Safe Travels system prior to departure or, as an alternative to uploading, bring a hard copy of their negative test result with them when boarding their flight. The State of Hawaii highly recommends that all transpacific travelers departing for Hawaii carry a hard copy of their negative test result as a backup.

IMPORTANT: The policy change means that test results will not be accepted once a traveler arrives in Hawai‘i. Travelers who did not have a negative test result prior to departing for Hawaii, must self-quarantine for 14 days, without exception. Post-arrival testing and results will also not be accepted once a traveler has arrived in Hawaii.

This policy change applies to domestic transpacific flights and flights from international locations in which pre-travel testing programs are in place. It does not apply to inter-county travelers. Read the press release.


Wearing a Face Covering is the Law in Hawaii

Wearing a face covering, or mask, is the law in Hawaii. All persons in the state shall wear a face covering over their nose and mouth when in public. The requirements of this statewide mask mandate are set forth in Exhibit J, which will be enforced in each county. All persons shall comply with applicable safety, hygiene and physical distancing guidance from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) as well as with state, county, industry and regulatory practices for safety, hygiene and physical distancing, including standards and requirements adopted and issued by Hawaii Department of Health (DOH).

An owner or operator of any business or operation shall refuse admission or service to any individual who fails to wear a face covering, unless an exception applies under this section. Businesses or operations may adopt stricter protocols or requirements related to face coverings and face shields. Businesses or operations not enforcing this rule may be subject to enforcement, including fines and mandatory closure.

For more information on county rules, read the latest guidelines (City and County of Honolulu, Maui County, Kauai County, Hawaii County).


Pre-Travel Testing Program Allows Travelers to Proceed Without Quarantine

***Note: Kauai County's secondary test is $150 for visitors. Visitors who choose to pay for and take the test will receive a $150 certificate from a participating Kauai business. Visit for details. The secondary test is free for residents and they are encouraged to take it after returning home from a trip. Visit for more information.

All individuals, both residents and visitors, arriving from out-of-state to Hawaii are still subject to a mandatory 14-day self-quarantine.

However, the state's Pre-Travel Testing Program allows individuals to proceed without having to self-quarantine. The program requires passengers five and older to take a Nucleic Acid Amplification Test (NAAT) from a Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendments (CLIA) certified laboratory within 72 hours from the final leg of departure and produce a negative result. Only test results from trusted testing partners approved by the Hawaii Department of Health are being accepted. A trained professional must observe all tests. Registration instructions and costs can be found at the partners’ websites.

Travelers from Japan may bypass the 14-day quarantine if they take a COVID-19 test from a trusted testing partner in Japan. The test must be taken no earlier than 72 hours prior to departure and the test must be negative. Japanese nationals traveling abroad are still subject to a 14-day quarantine upon their return to the country. Travel restrictions on U.S. travel to Japan remain in place. Read the press release and more information here.

11/19 Update: Beginning in mid-December, travelers flying from Canada to Hawaii may bypass the state’s mandatory 14-day quarantine if they take a COVID-19 test from labs identified by Air Canada and WestJet. The test must be taken within 72 hours of travel to the State of Hawaii, and a negative test result must be received prior to departure. Travelers without proof of a negative test result prior to boarding their flight to Hawaii will be required to self-quarantine for 14-days or the length of stay, whichever is shorter.

Air Canada and WestJet will be identifying testing entities in Canada, with the Hawaii State Department of Health’s approval, for purposes of the pre-testing program. Canadian residents should look to these Canadian-based carriers for the testing options in their country:

Air Canada:

The list of approved trusted testing partners is available at HawaiiCovid19.comRead the FAQs here.

In addition to the pre-travel test, a county may require travelers five and older to obtain a subsequent test after arrival. This post-arrival test will be administered by the county. Be sure to check with the individual county websites for the latest information.

For more information visit Traveling To Hawaii.